Department News

2021 News & Events

  • Cover of eLife Article

    Chapman and Vevea Published in eLife

    Dr. Jason Vevea and Dr. Ed Chapman, along with collaborators, were recently published in eLife on their work with Synaptotagmin 7 (SYT7). This paper, titled “Synaptotagmin 7 is targeted to the axonal plasma membrane through …

  • Jackson Awarded 2022 Sir Bernard Katz Award

    Dr. Meyer Jackson has been chosen as the 2022 Sir Bernard Katz Award for excellence in research on exocytosis and endocytosis! Meyer Jackson, Professor in the Neuroscience department at UW-Madison, has been chosen as the …

  • Robert Fettiplace

    Fettiplace Interviewed by WORT

    Our very own Dr. Robert Fettiplace was recently interviewed by the radio station WORT (89.9 FM). Joined by host Patrick Sajbel, Dr. Fettiplace discussed the science of the innermost working of ears and how they …

  • Tim Gomez

    Gomez Published in Nature Communications

    Dr. Timothy Gomez and colleagues recently had an article, “RHOA signaling defects result in impaired axon guidance in iPSC-derived neurons from patients with tuberous sclerosis complex,” published in Nature Communications. Tuberous Sclerosis Complex (TSC) is …

  • Carissa Sirois

    Sirois Receives 2021 SCRMC Training Award

    Carissa Sirois, postdoctoral researcher in the lab of Dr. Xinyu Zhao, has been awarded a postdoctoral training award from the Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Center (SCRMC). The SCRMC Research Training Awards were established in …

  • Xinyu Zhao

    Zhao Lab Highlights Potential Treatments for Schizophrenia in New Study

    A new study from the lab of Xinyu Zhao, PhD, brings us ever closer to identifying treatments for psychiatric disorders like schizophrenia and illuminates the role of a specific gene in regulating the disorder. Psychiatric …

  • Robert Fettiplace

    Fettiplace Honored With Membership in the National Academy of Sciences

    Dr. Robert Fettiplace of the Department of Neuroscience was recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Fettiplace, originally from the United Kingdom, is one of 30 new international members to the Academy. Along …

  • Ari Rosenberg

    Rosenberg Named Director of NTP Graduate Program

    Dr. Ari Rosenberg has been named the newest Director of the Neuroscience Training Program (NTP) graduate program starting July 1, 2021. The Neuroscience Training Program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison was established in 1971. It …

  • Su-Chun Zhang

    Zhang and Emborg Study Parkinson’s Symptom Reversal In Monkeys Using Brain Cell Grafts

    Dr. Su-Chun Zhang of the Department of Neuroscience and Dr. Marina Emborg of the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center have made a breakthrough in the study of monkeys with Parkinson’s disease. Parkinson’s disease damages neurons …

  • More 2021 posts

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.


Campus Events




  • Robert Fettiplace

    Fettiplace Awarded the 2019 Passano Prize

    Dr. Robert Fettiplace has been awarded the 2019 Passano Prize. Since 1945 the Passano Foundation has annually given an award for “endeavors with clinical applications” through Johns Hopkins University and the University of Maryland Medical …

  • Gail Robertson

    Gail Robertson to Receive 2019 Kenneth S. Cole Award

    Dr. Gail A. Robertson will receive the 2019 Kenneth S. Cole Award from the Biophysical Society. The selection committee writes that “Gail embodies the spirit and intent of the Cole Award, and is recognized for …

  • Donata Oertel

    Donata Oertel Elected as AAAS Fellow

    The American Association for the Advancement of Science has elected Dr. Donata Oertel from the University of Wisconsin–Madison as an AAAS Fellow. Dr. Oertel, Neuroscience Professor and Mary Herman and Lucien Rubinstein Distinguished Chair of …

  • Darcie Moore

    Moore Receives NIH Director’s New Innovator Award

    Darcie Moore is the recipient of an NIH Director’s New Innovator Award for High-Risk, High-Reward Research. Her project is titled “The Mechanisms and Functional Role of the Asymmetric Segregation of Cellular Cargoes in Stem Cells.” …

  • Ed Chapman

    Chapman Wins Pew Innovation Fund Award

    The Pew Charitable Trust announced that Dr. Ed Chapman, Professor of Neuroscience in the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, is one of a dozen leading “Innovation Fund” researchers who will collaborate …

  • More 2016 posts
  • More 2017 posts
  • More 2018 posts


  • Aerial photo of group at Holiday Party 2019

    2019 Holiday Party and Dr. Kalil’s Retirement

    The Department of Neuroscience wrapped up a fantastic year on December 12th by celebrating our departmental accomplishments, as well as wishing Dr. Kate Kalil the best in her retirement. Thank you to all who attended! …

  • Darcie Moore

    Moore Profiled as Rising Star in Neuroscience by The Scientist

    Assistant Professor Dr. Darcie Moore was recently published in the eBook, “Rising Stars in Neuroscience: Profiles of eight up-and-coming scientists looking to push boundaries and tread new paths in neuroscience research,” by The Scientist.  Dr. …

  • Ed Chapman

    Chapman Published Again in Nature Communications

    Ed Chapman and colleagues were recently published in Nature Communications for their work on message transfer regulation between mammal neurons. Specifically, Chapman describes a key component of the system — the “clamp” — that prevents …

  • Ed Chapman

    Chapman Published in Nature Communications

    Ed Chapman, professor of Neuroscience and HHMI investigator, and colleagues recently published in Nature Communications, Vol. 10, Article number: 3532 (2019), their work on synaptotagmin 17 (syt-17). Synaptotagmins (syt) are generally thought to regulate exocytosis …

  • Xinyu Zhao

    Zhao Receives FRAXA Research Grant

    FRAXA Research Foundation has awarded a $90,000 research grant to principal investigator Dr. Xinyu Zhao and postdoctoral fellow Dr. Minjie Shen at the University of Wisconsin. They are investigating whether drugs that boost mitochondria could …

  • More 2019 posts