Thank you for your interest in supporting the work of the Department of Neuroscience. Gifts to the Department of Neuroscience and to the funds sponsored by the department can be made through the internet by clicking the links below, or by mail.

Clinton Woolsey Lectureship Fund
Clinton N. Woolsey (1904-93) was Charles Sumner Schlichter Professor at the University of Wisconsin from 1948 until his retirement in 1978. His studies of cerebral, cerebellar and thalamic architecture, localization and organization contributed substantially to our understanding of the brain. Dr. Woolsey and his colleagues at Wisconsin were responsible in no small part for the present broad interest in neuroscience. Dr. Woolsey established the Lab of Neurophysiology which became the Dept. of Neurophysiology in 1976 and has now become the Dept. of Neuroscience. Dr. Woolsey was awarded the Ralph W. Gerard Prize, the Franklin P. Mall Award in Anatomy, the Medal of the Faculty of Medicine of the Free University of Brussels, and the Distinguished Service Alumni Award from Johns Hopkins. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1960. A few years before his retirement the annual Woolsey Lecture in Neuroscience was established. Contributions to this fund will help to keep the Lecture going and help celebrate his career.

Click here to donate to the Woolsey Lecture Fund

Jerzy Rose Award Fund
Jerzy E. Rose (1909-1992) was born in Poland and trained in Medicine, Psychiatry and Neuroanatomy, the latter under his famous uncle Maximillian Rose as well as with Oskar and Cecile Vogt. He immigrated to the US in 1939 after Germany occupied Poland and settled at the Johns Hopkins University where he met Clinton Woolsey and established a life-long scientific and personal link. His early work was in cytoarchitectonics and comparative and developmental studies of the diencephalon. He published a series of papers with Woolsey culminating in the now classic study of thalamocortical relations of Rose and Woolsey (1949). In 1960 he left Johns Hopkins to join Woolsey at the University of Wisconsin where he proceeded to form one of the foremost laboratories of auditory research in the world by taking up single unit electrophysiological studies of the brainstem auditory centers. He shared the Ralph W. Gerard Award from the Society for Neuroscience with Woolsey, was awarded the Association for Research in Otolaryngology Award of Merit, and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Upon his retirement his colleagues established the Jerzy Rose Award in Neuroscience to honor the most outstanding graduate thesis in neuroscience at UW-Madison. Contributions to this fund will allow us to continue awarding this prize to honor his illustrious career.

Click here to donate to the Jerzy Rose Award Fund

To Donate:
Gifts to the funds can be given for the Woolsey lecture and the Rose Award via the below links:

Clinton Woolsey Lecture Fund
Jerzy Rose Award Fund

You can also write a check. Gifts by check should be made payable to the University of Wisconsin Foundation, with designation either specified (Woolsey lecture or Rose award, or both) in an accompanying letter or memo section of the check. Gifts should be mailed to:

UW Foundation
U.S. Bank Lockbox
Box 78807
Milwaukee, WI 53278-0807

Thank you for your generous support!