Fettiplace Honored by NAS at Capitol Hill for 2018 Kavli Prize in Neuroscience

Dr. Robert Fettiplace and 9 other recipients of 2018 Nobel and Kavli awards were honored by the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) at events on Capitol Hill and at the NAS building.

NAS President Marcia McNutt kicked off the reception held in the Rotunda of the U.S. Capitol and co-hosted by U.S. Senators Alexander and Coons. McNutt applauded the laureates’ scientific achievements, their creativity, and their advancement of human knowledge.

The Kavli Prize was established in 2005 to honor, support and recognize scientists for outstanding scientific work in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience and award three international prizes every second year.

Click here for Article

Robert Fettiplace honored at NAS
Left to right: Victor Dzau, president of the National Academy of Medicine; William Nordhaus; A. James Hudspeth; Frances Arnold; Marcia McNutt, president of the National Academy of Sciences; Sen. Chris Coons; Arthur Ashkin (seated); Robert Fettiplace; George Smith; James Allison; Paul Romer; Jennifer Doudna; Robert Conn, president and CEO of the Kavli Foundation. Photo by Kevin Allen, taken at the event recognizing the 2018 American Nobel and Kavli Laureates hosted by the National Academy of Sciences.