Donata Oertel Elected as AAAS Fellow

Donata Oertel

The American Association for the Advancement of Science has elected Dr. Donata Oertel from the University of Wisconsin–Madison as an AAAS Fellow.

Dr. Oertel, Neuroscience Professor and Mary Herman and Lucien Rubinstein Distinguished Chair of Neuroscience, was cited for research on the cellular basis for the processing of acoustic information in the mammalian cochlear nuclei, and for service to the neuroscience community.

AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society, has elected distinguished members as fellows since 1874. Dr. Oertel is among 416 fellows recognized for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

This year’s fellows will be honored at the organization’s annual meeting on Feb. 16 in Washington, D.C.